Medical Surface

Passivation

Optimised protection of implants and instruments

We propose the passivation of stainless steel and titanium medical devices by means of processes developed and validated by our expert team as per IQ OQ PQ PPQ principles, in accordance with the requirements of ISO 13485 and 21 CFR820s.

Based on biodegradable products, these processes draw on the latest medical reference systems and make it possible to obtain a particularly effective nitric-acid-free treatment, so ensuring reproducible results coupled with ISO-10993-compliant biocompatibilty.

Through elimination of iron particles and other foreign bodies, our passivation of stainless steel makes it possible to develop a uniform and compact layer on the surface of the alloy. The oxide layer formed bolsters the material’s corrosion resistance by acting as a barrier against aggressive agents. Validated on a broad range of stainless steels used for the manufacture of surgical instruments and implants, our process enables treatment of austenitic , martensitic and austenitic-feritic steels.

The passivation of titanium alloys which we can offer makes it possible to rid medical devices of any contaminants such as ferrous ions and machining oils while also developing an oxide layer in a much purer way than by spontaneous oxidation in an uncontrolled environment.

Validation studies conducted with the most critical corrosion, toxicity and cytotoxicity tests on the different alloys have enabled us to verify the effectiveness of the process through improved resistance to corrosion and biocompatibility.

In addition to ensuring the enhanced corrosion resistance of medical implants and instruments, passivation also makes it possible to stabilise laser marking on products.

  • Bain passivation
  • passivation 1
  • passivation 2
  • Passivation 3

Medical Surface

Passivation

Une protection optimisée des implants et instruments

Nous proposons la passivation des dispositifs médicaux inox et titane par des procédés développés et validés par notre équipe experte selon les principes IQ OQ PQ PPQ conformément aux exigences de l’ISO 13485 et aux 21 CFR820.

A base de produits biodégradables, ces procédés  se rapportent aux derniers référentiels médicaux et permettent d’obtenir sans acide nitrique un traitement particulièrement performant assurant des résultats reproductibles associés à une biocompatibilité conforme à la norme ISO 10993.

Notre passivation des inox permet, par élimination des particules de fer et autres corps étrangers, de développer une couche d’oxyde uniforme et compacte  à la surface de l’alliage. La couche d’oxyde ainsi formée améliore la résistance à la corrosion du matériau en agissant comme barrière contre les éléments agressifs. Notre procédé validé sur une large gamme d’inox utilisés pour la fabrication des implants et instruments chirurgicaux permet de traiter les aciers austénitiques, les martensitiques et les austéno-ferritiques.

La passivation des alliages en titane que nous proposons permet de débarrasser les dispositifs médicaux des éventuels contaminants tels que ions ferreux et huiles d’usinage et de développer une couche d’oxyde de manière beaucoup plus pure que par oxydation spontanée en milieu non contrôlé.

Les travaux de validation réalisés avec les tests les plus critiques de corrosion, toxicité et cytotoxicité sur les différents alliages nous ont permis de vérifier l’efficacité du procédé par l’amélioration de la résistance à la corrosion et de la biocompatibilité.

En plus de procurer une meilleure résistance à la corrosion aux instruments et implants médicaux, la passivation permet également de stabiliser le marquage laser sur les produits.

  • Bain passivation
  • passivation 1
  • passivation 2
  • Passivation 3